mugabe saddestTerrence Mawawa The President of the Republic of Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe, this week became the third longest serving non-royal ruler in the world replacing Angolan President Jose Eduardo dos Santos who stepped down.

He also becomes the world’s oldest ruler next only to Queen Elizabeth, a royal.

Dos Santos was replaced by Joao Lourenco after spending 38 years at the helm of the Portuguese speaking nation.

However the veteran ruler, Mugabe is yet to announce his retirement plans.

Cameroon President Paul Biya is the longest-serving head of State and has been in power since 30 June 1975, first as Prime Minister and then as President.

In second place is Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo of Equatorial Guinea who assumed power on 3 August 1979.

Mugabe became Prime Minister on 18 April 1980 and President on 1 January 1988.

Others who have been in power for more than 30 years are Ali Khamenei of Iran (35 years, 348 days); Nursultan Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan (33 years, 188 days); Denis Sassou Nguesso of the Republic of the Congo (33 years, 176 days); Hun Sen of Cambodia (32 years, 255 days); and Yoweri Museveni of Uganda (31 years, 243 days)., 29.09.2017